Grade level is NOT required to be shown on the annual educational evaluation for a Florida homeschool student. Home Education statute fl 1002.41 describes the requirements for a home educating student in the state of Florida, including the requirements for the Annual Educational Evaluation. (see below)
Grade level is NOT required to be determined for the annual evaluation. Also NO test is required. Subjects studied/taught are NOT required to be stated in the annual evaluation, therefore, grade level and subject areas are NOT required to be stated on any evaluation document, EVEN a county form, etc.
“… parent shall provide for an annual educational evaluation in which is documented the student’s demonstration of educational progress at a level commensurate with her or his ability.” PERIOD
More importantly, as stated by Florida home education law a form does NOT have to filled out for the annual educational evaluation. When county personnel, web sites, letters of notification, etc. make it sound clearly like a county form is required to be filled out, that is just simply NOT true.
This is one reason why HSLDA & FPEA have both highly recommended NOT filling out forms for Annual Educational Evaluations. By FL law it is NOT required. By FL law the county is required to accept our annual evaluation letters with the required information included, as also they are required by law, to accept our Letters of Intent as long as we include the information required by FL Home Education law:
1002.41 Home education programs.—
(a) The parent shall notify the district school superintendent of the county in which the parent resides of her or his intent to establish and maintain a home education program. The notice shall be in writing, signed by the parent, and shall include the names, addresses, and birth dates of all children who shall be enrolled as students in the home education program. The notice shall be filed in the district school superintendent’s office within 30 days of the establishment of the home education program. (Most counties accept the Letter of Intent via email. Get confirmation!)
Also, think about this, when a form states:
(Teacher Evaluation) – A written Evaluation is Attached Which Includes:
1. Subjects Taught
2. Grade Level of Instruction
3. Additional Comments
or anything like the above, it is clearly misleading. Why do the forms have all the information required for an annual evaluation:
child’s name, date of birth, residence address, teacher’s signature, FL St. certificate # and expiration date, with a statement of the child progressing or not,
say anything more should be “attached” to the form, etc.? Clearly county forms such as these are misleading and not legally required!
SUPER news report with video:
I do Annual Educational Evaluations & Standardized Testing for homeschool students quickly and economically ($25). I am a Florida State Dept. of Education certified teacher (exp. date: 6/30/2016) & I am a homeschooling parent (14yrs). For True & simple answers about homeschooling in Florida (like-TEST NOT REQUIRED), email me, or call me anytime: CCTucker7@Gmail.com OR call my cell # 786-525-3545 – Charles C. Tucker
Graduation Supplies by HSLDA:
1002.41 Home education programs.—
(c) The parent shall provide for an annual educational evaluation in which is documented the student’s demonstration of educational progress at a level commensurate with her or his ability. The parent shall select the method of evaluation and shall file a copy of the evaluation annually with the district school superintendent’s office in the county in which the student resides. The annual educational evaluation shall consist of one of the following:
1. A teacher selected by the parent shall evaluate the student’s educational progress upon review of the portfolio and discussion with the student. Such teacher shall hold a valid regular Florida certificate to teach academic subjects at the elementary or secondary level;
2. The student shall take any nationally normed student achievement test administered by a certified teacher;
3. The student shall take a state student assessment test used by the school district and administered by a certified teacher, at a location and under testing conditions approved by the school district;
4. The student shall be evaluated by an individual holding a valid, active license pursuant to the provisions of s. 490.003(7) or (8); or
5. The student shall be evaluated with any other valid measurement tool as mutually agreed upon by the district school superintendent of the district in which the student resides and the student’s parent.